Dry Run Exhibition

The last two weeks, I have been setting up for the Dry Run of our senior exhibition. The experience was helpful when it came to working within the confines of a gallery. I ran into issues such as not directly attaching adhesive to the walls, confining spaces, and the most important: the installation of the salt. I installed the salt onto the floor to be told I cannot have a corrosive material directly on the hardwood. I’ve installed this piece multiple times so it hadn’t occurred to me that this may be an issue. I had to quickly change my plan and used a cut out of acetate to create a barrier between the floor and the salt. Overall, while it was frustrating to alter my piece, it was a good learning experience to know what to expect when installing in a professional gallery setting.

One thought on “Dry Run Exhibition

  1. Wow that’s a very mature exhibition for seniors. Lots of potential in those artists. Your issue with the gallery floor is definitely a good lesson for the future – galleries will always have their limitations and being resourceful will make you more resilient in the industry. Best of luck and can’t wait to see more of the show.

Leave a comment